More New Books for March!

2017 march new books 1

We would like to thank  Charles R. Walker for donating a copy of his Vignettes of Orr History to our Reference Collection.  I hope he does another printing someday because we would love to snag a circulating copy.  Response has been very complimentary and everyone wants their own copy.  We would also like to thank The Kirkpatrick Foundation for donating a copy of their  Oklahoma Animal Study.

We received Dr. Seuss’ Oh, the Places You Will Go and Horton Hatches the Egg too late to celebrate his birthday but we really should celebrate Dr. Seuss all year long!

Not all of what I call Carolyn Brown’s sweet “Healdton Trilogy” (probably most of world thinks of it as her Dreamers and Drifters Trilogy) made it out of cataloging for this picture but we do have all three – Morning Glory, Sweet Tilly, and Evening Star.  More romance can come your way with Dorothy Garlock’s Sunday Kind of Love and Shelley Shepard Gray’s Christian romance Christmas Bride in Pinecraft.

We replaced our copy of William Golding’s Lord of the Flies, a chilling novel about stranded schoolboys and their descent into savagery.  We added the YA novels The Outsiders and That Was Then, This Is Now by S.E. Hinton and the first two books in Heather Brewer’s The Chronicles of Vladimir Todd.  Last but far from least we added the latest offering from Neal Gaiman – his retelling of Norse Mythology.

Advertisements

New Books!

2017 march new books

In the YA Paranormal genre we added Brittany Geragotelis’ Life’s a Witch and What the Spell and in Adult Paranormal we caught up on Angie Fox’s Demonslayer series.  For the thriller lovers we added Stuart Woods’ Below the Belt and James Patterson’s Never Never. For all our romantics out there we bring you Danielle Steel’s The Mistress  and popular Christian Romance writer Shelley Shephard Gray’s Wedding at the Orange Blossom Inn.  We also added a new copy of Frank J. Dobie’s Tales of Old Time Texas and My Folk’s and the One-Room Schoolhouse from Cappers Press.

Celebrate Dr. Seuss and Women’s History Month at Your Library

March celebrates both Dr. Seuss’ birthday and National Women’s History Month and we have plenty of books for both! We have plenty of tongue twisting action from our Seuss collection and books that celebrate the early pioneer women of Oklahoma, the women who contributed to the development of our nation’s space program, amazing women inventors and so so many more.

Death by Chocolate 2017

Wow, the 13th Death by Chocolate, Gleason Memorial Library’s annual fundraiser could not have been held on a more perfect day (okay, it was a little windy but this is Oklahoma). People really turned out to support us. $2,194 was raised for the library. Pam Bell manned the Chocolate Sundae Table and Donna Butler took care of the Chocolate Fountain. Anna Kay McGowan, Frances Jackson, Angel Martin, Donna Butler, Marilyn Lester, Desiree Allen, Geree Thompson, Suzanne Pogue, Linda Law, Donna Hildebrant, Betty Howard, Cindy Hildebrant, Dona Brooks, Jan Medley and Rikki Gandy donated the mouthwatering desserts that made it all possible. I am so sorry if I missed anyone, we tried to keep up as best we could! Dakota Zachary and his ag students helped us set up for the event and Tommy and Cindy Hildebrant, Al Schneider, Malane Grace, Lester Vansill, Biff Jackson and Susan Marks helped with clean up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Begin the New Year With Some Great Reads!

2017-jan-new-books
On offer this week, we have paranormal chills and thrills from J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series and a seat of the pants thriller in Survivor by Greg Hurwitz.  Then we have romance from A Choice of Angels by Debbie Macomber, featuring more adventures from those heavenly sent angels Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy as well as, At the River’s Edge by Mariah Stewart.  Finally, we have two more books in Frewin Jones Young Adult series, Warrior Princess.
 

More Books and DVDs Available at Gleason Memorial Library

2016-december-new-books-picture-3
We have added new titles by Stephen King, James Patterson and Nora Roberts plus Saving Grace, the third book in (relatively) new Christian author, Jennifer H. Westall’s Healing Ruby series.  For fans of Lee Child, Stephen Hunter and the late Vince Flynn we have added Ben Coes Dewey Andreas series.  We added two trilogies comprising the beginning of Kay Hooper’s paranormal FBI Special Crimes Unit and a standalone suspense novel, Before She Dies, by Mary Burton.  Book one of the Young Adult Warrior Princess series by Frewin Jones looks very good.  New dvds include the first three Underworld movies and Shooter.  Remember, a few weeks ago we began adding Stephen Hunters, Bob Lee Swagger series which was the basis for Shooter, the movie and the new USA television series.