Celebrate Dr. Seuss and Women’s History Month at Your Library

March celebrates both Dr. Seuss’ birthday and National Women’s History Month and we have plenty of books for both! We have plenty of tongue twisting action from our Seuss collection and books that celebrate the early pioneer women of Oklahoma, the women who contributed to the development of our nation’s space program, amazing women inventors and so so many more.

Death by Chocolate 2017

Wow, the 13th Death by Chocolate, Gleason Memorial Library’s annual fundraiser could not have been held on a more perfect day (okay, it was a little windy but this is Oklahoma). People really turned out to support us. $2,194 was raised for the library. Pam Bell manned the Chocolate Sundae Table and Donna Butler took care of the Chocolate Fountain. Anna Kay McGowan, Frances Jackson, Angel Martin, Donna Butler, Marilyn Lester, Desiree Allen, Geree Thompson, Suzanne Pogue, Linda Law, Donna Hildebrant, Betty Howard, Cindy Hildebrant, Dona Brooks, Jan Medley and Rikki Gandy donated the mouthwatering desserts that made it all possible. I am so sorry if I missed anyone, we tried to keep up as best we could! Dakota Zachary and his ag students helped us set up for the event and Tommy and Cindy Hildebrant, Al Schneider, Malane Grace, Lester Vansill, Biff Jackson and Susan Marks helped with clean up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Begin the New Year With Some Great Reads!

2017-jan-new-books
On offer this week, we have paranormal chills and thrills from J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series and a seat of the pants thriller in Survivor by Greg Hurwitz.  Then we have romance from A Choice of Angels by Debbie Macomber, featuring more adventures from those heavenly sent angels Shirley, Goodness, and Mercy as well as, At the River’s Edge by Mariah Stewart.  Finally, we have two more books in Frewin Jones Young Adult series, Warrior Princess.
 

More Books and DVDs Available at Gleason Memorial Library

2016-december-new-books-picture-3
We have added new titles by Stephen King, James Patterson and Nora Roberts plus Saving Grace, the third book in (relatively) new Christian author, Jennifer H. Westall’s Healing Ruby series.  For fans of Lee Child, Stephen Hunter and the late Vince Flynn we have added Ben Coes Dewey Andreas series.  We added two trilogies comprising the beginning of Kay Hooper’s paranormal FBI Special Crimes Unit and a standalone suspense novel, Before She Dies, by Mary Burton.  Book one of the Young Adult Warrior Princess series by Frewin Jones looks very good.  New dvds include the first three Underworld movies and Shooter.  Remember, a few weeks ago we began adding Stephen Hunters, Bob Lee Swagger series which was the basis for Shooter, the movie and the new USA television series.